top of page

Original Boho


On my first day as a SAHM, we ventured off to the only source of entertainment I knew at the time - story time at the DC SE library. I now know this is a cattle call of moms and nannies fighting for tickets to a 30 minute story time with screaming kids but for me it was the door to my amazing mom tribe and dear friendship with my boho bestie. I remember meeting her for the first time and thinking “shit, I thought these moms would be wearing lulu at the park with their latte’s…that chick and her daughter are dressed like super models”. Of course, this love for style and design would ultimately make us besties! Our daily text chain includes no less than 10 screenshots or pictures of clothes, rugs, furniture, design boards, recipes and our husbands think we are a little insane but that’s what best friends are for, right? As the owner of @theneoncamel, Alli has an amazing eye for colors and textures - just check out her Instagram feed and you will fall in love her with head wraps and turbans.

I was super excited when Alli asked me to help her finish her newly built house in National Harbor - she had already made some great selections and just needed help to pull it all together. Alli loves color but was struggling to make decisions that she would not tire of in six months. My goal was to warm the space by neutralizing some of the finishes without losing all the fun.

We started with the living room and after reviewing no less than a hundred rugs (seriously we have a rug problem), we settled on a large ivory weave rug to ground the space and increase the perceived size of the room. Alli had already selected a great gray sectional and had the start of a gallery wall - we added a grey/ivory boho weave to bring some texture to the wall and selected neutral turkish throw pillows. We bargain shopped for her accent tables and coffee table and spend the bulk of her budget on the media console.

This console…it was the one place I thought we might disagree. Alli was frustrated with her daughter’s toys exploding in the living room and wanted a quick fix. She selected a stunning navy lacquer console table and while I loved it, I did not love it in her space. I thought I was going to lose her for a moment on this one but she stayed patient and we found the perfect mid century navy console to complete the space and get those toys off the floor. I know they are loving it and I hope you do too!

Dining Room: Farm Table @restorationhardware, Ghost Chairs @, Chalkboard - handmade by client, Runner @cb2, Candlesticks - vintage @fouryoureyesonly, Chair Covers @etsy

Living Room: Sofa @, End Tables @homegoods, Coffee Table @target, Leather Stool @urbanoutfitters, Throw Pillows @westelm @etsy, Media Console @thestylishpatina, Wall Weave @Target, Art @homegoods, Copper Vase @Michaels, Floor Basket @target, Table Lamp @target, Basket Tray @target, Faux Succulents @target @homegoods, Gold/Wood Vases @homegoods.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page